Vue d'exposition / Ausstellungsansicht / Exhibition view © Baptiste Schmitt

Vue d'exposition / Ausstellungsansicht / Exhibition view © Baptiste Schmitt

Strong attendance at the 2015 Biel/Bienne Festival of Photography

The 19th edition of the Biel/Bienne Festival of Photography concludes on a positive note. Since August 28, more than 6,700 visitors have come to the 22 exhibitions and the accompanying events in the bilingual city of Biel/Bienne. This healthy attendance confirms the Festival’s central role in the area of emerging photography, and is a favourable sign for the anniversary edition of the Festival, which will take place in the spring of 2016.

A meeting place for the public and for professionals

Both professionals and the general public came in large numbers to the different venues spread throughout the city to discover the 22 exhibitions (including 14 world premieres and 6 Swiss premieres) presenting the work of 38 Swiss and international artists, as well as to the events organized around the Festival. More than 6,700 people came to Biel/Bienne during the three weeks of the Festival. This attendance level is about the same as in 2014, indicating a sustained interest not just in the work of the emerging talents in Swiss and international photography, but also in the meetings that were scheduled this year. The Photographers Day gave the public a chance to meet many of the photographers whose work was being exhibited, while the two days of portfolio reviews were an opportunity for many photographers to present their work to professionals from various backgrounds.

The Biel/Bienne Festival of Photography in springtime

To celebrate its twentieth anniversary, the Festival is rejuvenating itself by moving to the spring calendar. The 2016 edition of the Festival will take place from April 29 to May 22 and will feature various synergies. One of these will be a collaboration with the LIVES Swiss National Centre of Competence in Research (NCCR LIVES) centred on vulnerability and resilience in the course of life, which will include an exhibition and a publication. The detailed programme will be announced close to the 2016 Festival. The Festival will continue to be held in the spring in subsequent years.

The 2015 Festival by the numbers

22 exhibitions
15 events
9 exhibition venues
38 photographers from 10 countries
6,700 visitors
(65% German-speaking Swiss, 30% French-speaking Swiss, 5% international)

The Festival is good for the ears!

Though the 2015 Festival is coming to an end, it is still possible to (re)discover the audio guide that was a part of the exhibitions.
Interviews with the photographers are accompanied by texts composed and read by students from the Swiss Literature Institute.
Listen

Vue d'exposition / Ausstellungsansicht / Exhibition view © Baptiste Schmitt

Vue d'exposition / Ausstellungsansicht / Exhibition view © Baptiste Schmitt

Bemerkenswerte Besucherzahlen an den Bieler Fototagen 2015

Die 19. Ausgabe des Bieler Festivals schliesst mit einer positiven Bilanz ab. Die 22 Ausstellungen und die verschiedenen Parallelveranstaltungen, die ab dem 28. August liefen, vermochten über 6700 Besucherinnen und Besucher in die zweisprachige Stadt zu locken. Das ist ein bemerkenswerter Erfolg, der die wichtige Rolle des Festival im Bereich aufstrebende Fotografie unterstreicht und ein positives Vorzeichen für die kommende Jubiläumsausstellung setzt.

Ein Begegnungsort für das Publikum und die Fachleute

Publikum und Fachleute sind zahlreich in die 22 Ausstellungen geströmt, unter denen 14 Welt- und 6 Schweizer Premieren zu verzeichnen waren. An den verschiedenen Ausstellungsorten und anlässlich der verschiedenen Begleitevents des Festivals wurden die Werke von 38 Künstlern aus der Schweiz und dem Ausland vorgestellt. Während der dreiwöchigen Dauer des Festivals fanden über 6700 Personen den Weg nach Biel. Die Besucherzahlen sind im Vergleich zu 2014 stabil geblieben und sind Beleg für das anhaltende Interesse, das nicht nur der Arbeit von aufstrebenden Talenten der Schweizer und der internationalen Fotografie entgegengebracht wird, sondern auch den Begegnungen, die auf dem Programm standen. So erlaubte es beispielsweise der Tag der FotografInnen dem Publikum, einen guten Teil der ausstellenden Fotografinnen und Fotografen näher kennenzulernen, und die zwei Tage, an denen die Portfolio Reviews stattfanden, boten zahlreichen Fotografinnen und Fotografen die Gelegenheit, ihre Arbeiten von Fachleuten verschiedener Herkunft bewerten zu lassen.

Frühling der Bieler Fototage 

Aus Anlass seines 20. Geburtstags gönnt sich das Festival eine Verjüngungskur und wird neu im Frühling durchgeführt werden. Die Ausgabe 2016 wird vom 29. April bis 22. Mai über die Bühne gehen und charakterisiert sein durch verschiedene Synergien, darunter die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Nationalen Forschungsschwerpunkt LIVES (NFS LIVES). Das Projekt thematisiert die Verletzbarkeit und das Überwinden dieser Verletzbarkeit im Verlauf des Lebens, das Thema wird dem Publikum im Rahmen einer Ausstellung und einer Publikation nähergebracht werden. Das detaillierte Programm wird kurz vor der Ausgabe 2016 der Bieler Fototage bekanntgegeben. Das Festival wird auch in den kommenden Jahren im Frühling durchgeführt werden. (1ère version)

Das Festival 2015 in Zahlen

22 Ausstellungen
15 Events
9 Ausstellungsorte
38 Fotografinnen und Fotografen aus 10 Ländern
6700 Besucherinnen und Besucher
(65% Deutschschweiz, 30% Westschweiz, 5% Ausland)

Die Bieler Fototage zum Zuhören!

Die Ausgabe 2015 neigt sich zwar ihrem Ende zu, es ist aber immer noch möglich, den für die Ausstellungen kreierten Audioguide (wieder) zu entdecken. Er enthält Interviews mit den Fotografinnen und Fotografen, dazu Texte, die von Studierenden des Schweizerischen Literaturinstituts verfasst wurden – eine Möglichkeit, die Erfahrungen mit den Fototagen auf der Site zu erweitern.